30 March 2017

New Approaches in Performance Management

What is the benefit of the yearly Performance Management appraisal talks and why in many cases does it lead to unpleasant feelings, when it comes to this once a year event? Have you also ask yourself this already? Our today’s blog article investigates the concept of Performance Management processes in the context of Performance Assessment and the associated topics Bonus and Compensation. In many cases these topics are mixed up together in this process and the actual task of the feedback talk recedes into the background or is simply not part of it. Therefore it is recommendable to have a closer look into the new concepts and approaches, instead of only fulfilling a standard process, which neglects the actual topic.

New approaches in Performance Management are important, Source: Pexels.com

The approach of continuous feedback in Performance Management

In many today’s companies people work project based, often inter-divisional and in complex matrix organisations. These structures aren’t in many times part of the yearly Performance Assessments in a lot of companies. But this should be also part of the overall appraisal, even if the responsible superior isn’t the direct Line Manager. This is the reason why these achievements aren’t duly appreciated. That’s why it is useful to apply the continuous feedback within those complex organisations. The newest findings in Performance Management revealed that most employees wish to have a continuous feedback process. And this in the context of positive as well as negative meaning. To receive an overview about this topic, we can recommend you this article from Questback. Here they write about the implementation of continuous feedback at Accenture and the British bicycle team Sky, which is said has led to the fact that they won last years Tour the France. Interesting is the fact that the Sky bicycle riders have the possibility to use a mobile app with which they can rate their own performance. This rating is in the end the base of the constantly held feedback rounds with their team leader. At Accenture the change to continuous feedback came after finding out that the yearly feedback rounds were too long-winded and didn’t tell them much about their key challenges. Besides that the insights from these yearly Performance Management talks didn’t add any value, because they weren’t up to date anymore, a trend that comes from the overall development in terms of today’s rapid digitisation and business transformation. That was one of the reasons why they decided to implement constant feedback rounds.

Do 360 Degree feedbacks the right way

360 Degree feedbacks exist already for a long time, that’s nothing new. However unfortunately it is often wrongly applied. Though it is important to see the internal and external view of a person during the Performance appraisal process and this should be part of the overall Performance Assessment. It is important during the feedback process that the positive traits of a person are confirmed and of course that also the rather negative traits are mentioned, however it should be done in a way that the positive intonation is part of the overall orientation, when two people talk to each other. An interesting article about feedback was published by Derek Stockley and is also very interesting. Because this topic isn’t easy in general the responsible Line Managers are asks to train these communication abilities. The Human Resources department should be aware of this and offer these communication qualifications for their Line Managers, so they learn how to talk to their employees in a constructive and respectful way.

Applying the 360 degrees feedback right, Source: Pexels.com

What is the best mix in Performance Management?

In our opinion the best approach is the mix of continuous and yearly feedback. Then it is often a good solution if both concepts are handled with careful attention. Overall it is essential that feedback is perceived as such and doesn’t get neglected by the yearly bonus and compensation talks. It is important to always remember how to approach the feedback rounds and what language you should apply to empower each other, here it is recommended to follow the instructions, which one can find in Derek Stockley’s article. Basically it is always important, that even if you handle negative feedback you should show the positive intentions. Because Performance Management should be used to strengthen the positive sides of employees, so they can work on their rather weak points and use their own drive.

Which HR Software Providers are innovative in Performance Management?

When it comes to the topic of innovation, you will find a couple of HR Software Providers that are specialised in this area and act as pioneers. One can find a good first overview for instance on G2Growd, as this platform is based in the US there aren’t many European or German speaking solution providers mentioned. Basically it is worth to think outside the box and to receive information from other sources then the ones one is used to. There are plenty of portals and providers. Therefore it is important to carry out a good research or to ask experts for some useful advice. When it comes to the topic of Performance Management it is most important, that you find a Provider, who does have a lot of experience, particularly when it comes to the implementation of software solutions and who can on the long-term accompany your HR processes.

Our Conclusion: Performance Management will have to change in times of Business Transformation and Digitisation

We believe that in today’s times it is important to implement the new approaches in Performance Management, especially with regard of continuous feedback, which can be already seen within some companies. The HR department has the responsibility to bring this topic to the executive management and to convince them, why these changes are meaningful. The increasing technological change, leads more and more to the fact that many business areas have to adapt to change much faster, so they can stay competitive! Because of that the new approaches in Performance Management are advisable and shouldn’t be treated with closed eyes. That’s why it is important to keep the eyes open and to occupy oneself with this topic as soon as possible.

RSS
Facebook
Facebook
Google+
Google+
http://hr-software-consulting.ch/en/performance-management
LinkedIn
Xing

30. März 2017

Neue Ansätze im Performance Management

Haben Sie sich auch schon oft gefragt, was es mit dem jährlichen Performance Management Gespräch auf sich hat und wieso es oft immer wieder zu unguten Gefühlen führt, wenn dieses, in den meisten Fällen, einmal jährlich stattfindende Gespräch ansteht? Unser heutiger Blogartikel beschäftigt sich diesem Performance Management Prozess oder auch Leistungsbeurteilungsgespräch genannt, und den damit oft mit in Verbindung gebrachten Themen Bonus und Compensation (Vergütung). Denn oft vermischen sich diese Themen in diesem Prozess, und die eigentliche Aufgabe dieses Gesprächs gerät viel zu oft in den Hintergrund oder wird gar vergessen. Es ist von daher ratsam, sich einmal mit den neuen Konzepten und Herangehensweisen zu beschäftigen, statt einen Standardprozess zu verfolgen, der am Ende das eigentliche Thema vernachlässigt.

Neue Ansätze im Performance Management sind wichtig, Quelle: Pexels.com

Der Ansatz des kontinuierlichen Feedbacks im Performance Management

In vielen Unternehmen wird heute projektbasiert gearbeitet, oftmals auch abteilungsübergreifend und in komplexen Matrixorganisationen. Diese Strukturen fliessen in vielen Unternehmen oft nur selten in die jährliche Leistungsbeurteilung ein. Dabei sollte dies ebenso Teil der Gesamtbeurteilung sein, auch wenn der zuständige Vorgesetzte nicht der direkte Manager gewesen ist. Dies hat den Grund, dass diese Leistungen nicht gebührend gewürdigt werden. Deshalb ist es durchaus sinnvoll, dass innerhalb von Organisationen mit kontinuierlichen Feedback gearbeitet wird. Die neusten Erkenntnisse im Performance Management gehen davon aus, dass es sich die meisten Mitarbeitenden wünschen, kontinuierlich eine Rückmeldung zu erhalten. Und dies im positiven wie auch im negativen Sinne. Einen lesenswerten Beitrag finden Sie auf der Website von Questback. In dem Beitrag, wird unter anderen über die Einführung von kontinuierlichen Feedback bei Accenture und dem britischen Radrennstall Sky berichtet. Interessant ist dabei die Tatsache, dass die Sky Radfahrer mittels einer Mobile App, die Möglichkeit haben, ihre eigene Leistung zu bewerten. Diese Bewertung dient anschliessend als Grundlage für die regelmässig stattfindenden Feedbackrunden mit dem Teamleiter. Bei Accenture kam die Wende hin zum kontinuierlichen Feedback, weil sie festgestellt hatten, dass die jährlichen Feedbackrunden zu langatmig und nichts aussagend waren. Zudem waren die Erkenntnisse aus den jährlichen Performance Management Gesprächen, insbesondere in der heutigen Zeit der Digitalisierung, von geringem Nutzen, da diese oftmals schon nicht mehr aktuell waren. Deshalb haben sie sich seit kurzem entschieden, regelmässige Feedbackrunden einzuführen.

360 Grad Feedbacks richtig machen
Dass es das 360 Grad Feedback schon lange gibt, das sollte nichts Neues sein. Jedoch wird es leider oft nicht richtig angewandt. Dabei ist die interne und externe Sicht bei der Beurteilung einer Person sehr wichtig und sollte bei der Gesamtbeurteilung unbedingt beachtet werden. Wichtig beim Feedback geben ist, dass es vor allem die positiven Eigenschaften einer Person bestätigen soll, natürlich sollen auch die eher negativen Eigenschaften angesprochen werden, jedoch sollte die Betonung dabei immer eine positive Gesamtausrichtung haben. Einen interessanten Artikel über positive Rückmeldungen finden Sie in diesem Beitrag von Dr. Julia Belke. Da dieses Thema generell nicht einfach ist, sind vor allem die zuständigen Linienmanager gefragt, sich derartige Kommunikationsfähigkeiten anzueignen. Dies sollte der Human Resources Abteilung / Personalmanagement Abteilung bewusst sein und gezielt in diese didaktische Weiterbildung der Vorgesetzten investieren.

360 Grad Feedback richtig ausüben, Quelle: Pexels.com

Was ist der beste Mix im Performance Management

Unserer Meinung ist das derzeit beste Vorgehen, ein Mix aus kontinuierlichen und jährlichen Feedback. Denn es erweist sich als eine gute Lösung, wenn beide Konzepte Beachtung finden. Insgesamt ist wichtig, dass das Feedback auch als solches ankommt, und nicht im Sinne des jährlichen Bonus und Compensation Gesprächs untergeht. Die dabei zu beachtenden Formen, wie etwas gesagt wird und wann es angesprochen werde soll, können Sie im Beitrag von Dr. Julia Belke nachlesen. Grundsätzlich ist es wichtig, dass auch bei negativen Feedback die positive Absicht dahinter erkennbar sein sollte, denn im Performance Management sollte es darum gehen, dass die positiven Seiten der Mitarbeitenden gestärkt werden, so dass diese die weniger guten Seiten aus eigenem Antrieb verbessern können.

Welche HR Software Anbieter sind im Performance Management innovativ

Beim Thema Innovation gibt es die einen oder anderen HR Software Anbieter, die sich in diesem Bereich spezialisiert haben und als Vordenker agieren. Einen guten ersten Überblick finden Sie zum Beispiel auf G2Growd, da dies eine amerikanische Plattform ist, die leider fast keine Referenz zu deutschsprachigen Anbietern auflistetet, lohnt es sich, auch noch andere Portale miteinander zu vergleichen. Grundsätzlich ist es lohnenswert, über den eigenen bekannten Tellerrand hinaus zu blicken und sich anderweitig zu erkundigen. Genügend Portale und Anbieter gibt es mittlerweile. Es heisst also eine gute Recherche anzustellen oder sich beraten zu lassen. Wichtig ist ja bei dem Thema Performance Management, dass Sie sich an einen Anbieter wenden, der damit Erfahrung hat und mit dem Sie eine Software Lösung einführen, die langfristig Ihre HR Prozesse erfolgreich begleitet.

Unser Fazit: Performance Management wird sich in Zeiten der Business Transformation und Digitalisierung ändern müssen

Unserer Meinung nach ist es vor allem in der heutigen Zeit wichtig, dass die neuen Ansätze im Performance Management, insbesondere im Hinblick auf das kontinuierliche Feedback, Einzug halten in die Unternehmen. Hier ist das HR gefragt, dies an die Geschäftsleitungen heran zutragen und diese davon zu überzeugen, wieso diese Veränderung sinnvoll ist. Denn der fortschreitende technologische Wandel führt immer mehr dazu, dass sich viele Geschäftsbereiche schnelllebiger ändern werden müssen, um wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben! Von daher sind neue Herangehensweise im Performance Management ratsam und sollten nicht mit verschlossen Augen betrachtet werden. Es gilt von daher die Augen offen zu halten und sich so rasch wie möglich mit diesem Thema näher zu beschäftigen.

RSS
Facebook
Facebook
Google+
Google+
http://hr-software-consulting.ch/performance-management/
LinkedIn
Xing