20 March 2017

Talent Management – quo vadis?

Talent Management is a wide term. Everyone does understand it a little bit different and also everyone thinks that he or she knows best what it is all about. It depends on the points of contact to this topic and how differently it is perceived. In today’s blog article we will get to the bottom of these circumstances. You will find dozens of good definitions what Talent Management is, e.g. on Managementstudyguide.com. We won’t go into detail about these definitions but we will explain what is our understanding when it comes to this term.

Definition Talent Management, Source: Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon (German)

The meaning of Talent Management

Under Talent Management we understand all actions that lead to the development of your organisation’s employees, so you can fill your key roles with the right personalities. Bu we also consider hiring and winning external people for these specific positions as part of it. Basically all HR processes like recruiting, agreement of objectives, performance management and succession planning have a decisive impact to a successful Talent Management within an organisation. That’s why in our opinion Talent Management is nowadays inconceivable for companies and organisations and needs to be approached professionally. Besides that it is really important to have a matching HR Software, which covers and supports your HR processes well. And it got much easier to find the right solution, because there are almost no borders any more. Which means that it doesn’t have to be the HR solution that is omnipresent. It’s worth it to have a look beyond your well-known horizon, because a lot has changed on the HR software market within the last 2-3 years.

Talent Matrix

The most famous model to create a successful internal Talent Management is the usage of a Talent Matrix, often also called 9 Box Grid or Potential-Performance Matrix. If applied appropriately and understood by the Line Managers, it is a recommended tool to find the right personalities for your key roles. But in conversations with Line Managers we can often hear that they don’t understand the whole idea behind it and this often falls back to the HR departments.

Sample 9 Box Talent Matrix, Source: Employee-Performance.com

That Line Managers have problems in applying such models isn’t only the case in the field of Talent Matrices. Often we can also hear that they struggle with the new performance management process and the newly implemented HR system in general. In most cases Line Managers say that either the new process got too complicated or they didn’t perceive the training as value adding and therefore lacking the overall big picture. Therefore the Human Resources departments have to take a closer look into this process and make sure that this is addressed during and after the implementation. From our experience it’s better to invest more time in training and explaining, even though it might be exhausting, but it will pay off if every Line Manager understands the process in the end. Further good reading how to apply a Talent Matrix you can find on the Blog Ready to Manage.

HR Software Providers in Talent Management

The 9 Box Grid Matrix isn’t only used to perceive an appraisal of employees of an organisation, but it’s also useful to find out, which HR Software Provider is strong in the field of Talent Management. This matrix gives Human Resources departments a first indication, how the Software is classified and is therefore helpful during the selection process.

HR Software Provider Comparison 9 Box Grid, Quelle: www.fosway.com/9-grid/

Very often one can find several of these rankings and compare the arguably best HR Software Providers with each other. Last year we already wrote about this topic in our blog article What is a good HR Cloud Provider. It is worth it to compare such rankings, especially if you want to implement HR Software for your Talent Management.

Only if you master Talent Management you will stay successful

Only the companies and organisations that have their Talent Management under control will be successful on the long-term. It is important to create your own process and based on it, selecting the right HR Software, that supports this process best. Thus it is always helpful to question your own HR processes and perhaps you can find new ways how to cope with the future. In our opinion, topics like team collaboration, flat hierarchies and continuous performance management will gain more importance in the future. That’s why we think new approaches and values will have a considerable impact on Talent Management in regard of the applied criteria for performance and teamwork.

RSS
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Visit Us
LinkedIn
Xing

20. März 2017

Talent Management – quo vadis?

Was für ein grosser Begriff es doch ist, das Talent Management. Denn jeder versteht ein bisschen was anderes darunter und jeder denkt, dass er oder sie es besser weiss, was darunter zu verstehen ist. Je nach Berührungspunkten mit diesem Thema gibt es tatsächlich erstaunliche Unterschiede in der Betrachtungsweise und wir gehen diesen Umstand im heutigen Blogartikel auf den Grund. Im Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon finden Sie ein paar gute Definitionen was Talent Management darstellt. Wir werden diese Definitionen hier nicht weiter aufführen, sondern kurz erklären, was wir darunter verstehen.

Definition Talent Management, Quelle: Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon

Unsere Bedeutung von Talent Management

Wir verstehen unter Talent Management alle Aktionen, die entweder dazu führen, die eigenen Mitarbeitenden zu entwickeln, damit Schlüsselrollen mit den richtigen Persönlichkeiten besetzt werden können. Oder externe Personen für diese spezifischen Positionen zu gewinnen. In diesem Sinne spielen HR Prozesse wie Rekrutierung, Zielvereinbarung, Leistungsbeurteilung sowie die Nachfolgeplanung ineinander und haben entscheidenden Einfluss für ein erfolgreiches Unternehmen. Von daher ist unsere Meinung über Talent Management, dass es für die Unternehmen und Organisationen undenkbar geworden ist, es nicht professionell zu handhaben. Zudem ist es heutzutage extrem wichtig geworden, die angesprochenen HR Prozesse, mittels einer passenden HR Software abzudecken. Dazu ist es wesentlich einfacher geworden, die richtige Lösung zu finden, weil es fast keine Grenzen mehr gibt. Es muss also nicht mehr nur das allgegenwärtig bekannte Produkt sein, sondern es lohnt sich auch einmal über den bekannten Horizont hinaus zu blicken, denn es hat sich in den letzten 2 bis 3 Jahren sehr viel getan.

Talent Matrix

Das wohl bekannteste Modell für ein erfolgreiches nach innen gerichtetes Talent Management, ist wohl die Talent Matrix, oft auch 9 Box Grid oder Potential-Performance Matrix bezeichnet. Sofern es richtig angewendet wird und von allen Linienmanagern der Sinn dahinter verstanden wird, ist es auch zu empfehlen, um die richtigen Persönlichkeiten für Schlüsselrollen zu finden. Dass dies oftmals nicht der Fall ist, ist sehr schade und wirft ein eher unschönes Bild auf die Personalabteilung / Human Resources Abteilung, wenn man sich mit Linienmanagern über die Umsetzung von diesem Bereich des Talent Managements unterhält.

Talent Matrix, Quelle: HRPepper.de

Dies ist aber nicht nur bei der Anwendung von Talent Matrizen der Fall, oftmals hört man von Linienmanagern auch die Aussage, dass sie den neuen Leistungsbeurteilungsprozess, mit dem eben erst eingeführten neuen HR System überhaupt nicht verstehen bzw. dieser schlecht geschult worden ist. Damit dies also nicht geschieht, ist die gute Erklärung dieser Anwendungen und Methoden sehr wichtig. Lieber mehr Zeit investieren, damit es alle verstehen als am Ende einen Prozess zu haben, der nur von wenigen verstanden wird und damit nicht akzeptiert wird. Eine eher kritische Betrachtung zum Thema Talent Matrix finden Sie auf HRPepper.de.

HR Software Anbieter im Talent Management

Die im Talent Management oft verwendete 9 Box Grid Matrix ist nicht nur im Bereich der Einschätzung von Mitarbeitenden anwendbar, sondern auch für die HR Software Anbieter selber. Diese Matrix gibt den Personalabteilungen einen ersten Hinweis, welche Software wie einzuordnen ist und ist von daher hilfreich bei der Auswahl.

HR Software Anbieter Vergleich 9 Grid Box, Quelle: www.fosway.com/9-grid/

Oftmals werden verschiedene Rankings gemacht und dabei die wohl besten HR Software Anbieter in diesem Bereich miteinander verglichen. Wir hatten darüber bereits im letzten Jahr ausführlicher darüber berichtet in unserem Blogartikel Was ist ein guter HR Cloud Anbieter. Es lohnt sich solche Rankings näher zu betrachten, vor allem wenn Sie eine HR Software für Ihr Talent Management einführen wollen.

Nur wer Talent Management beherrscht wird weiterhin erfolgreich sein

Nur die Unternehmen und Organisationen, die ihr Talent Management im Griff haben, werden auch langfristig erfolgreich sein. Es gilt also sich erst einmal einen eigenen Prozess aufzubauen und anhand diesem, die richtige HR Software zu finden, die diesen Prozess am besten unterstützen kann. Zudem lohnt es sich die eigenen HR Prozesse zu hinterfragen und vielleicht einen ganz neuen Weg einzuschlagen. Themen wie Zusammenarbeit im Team, flache Hierarchien sowie kontinuierliche Leistungsbeurteilungen werden unserer Meinung in der Zukunft verstärkt an Wichtigkeit gewinnen. Somit werden diese neuen Herangehensweisen und Werte einen erheblichen Einfluss auf das Talent Management im Hinblick auf die verwendeten Kriterien für Leistung und Teamarbeit, haben.

RSS
Facebook
Facebook
Google+
Google+
http://hr-software-consulting.ch/talent-management
LinkedIn
Xing